fbpx
Search

Google Deleting Unused Accounts

Google Deleting Accounts

Recently, Google announced a change to its inactive account policies. Starting in December 2023, accounts that have been inactive for two or more years will start to get deleted. While this policy is meant to enhance security, cybercriminals could use this news for their phishing scams. 

In the coming months, you will likely see an influx of phishing scams based on Google's new policies. Cybercriminals may send you phishing emails claiming that your Google account will be deleted unless you take immediate action. They may also ask you for your Google login credentials. If your login credentials fall into the wrong hands, cybercriminals could steal your sensitive information or impersonate you to scam others.

Follow the tips below to spot similar scams:

• If you receive an email claiming that your account will be deleted, consider whether or not you use the account in question and verify the legitimacy of the email.

• Think before you click. Cyberattacks are designed to catch you off guard and trigger you to click impulsively. 

• Be cautious before logging in to accounts through an email link. Instead, manually navigate to the organization’s official website to log in.

Inactive Google Account Policy – Google Account Help

Share:

More Posts

Consolidated Scam Alert Header

SCAM Calls from Consolidated

We are getting reports from customers that are receiving calls from “483-4000” from a man with a foreign accent claiming that we will be disconnecting

Center Stage – Eric Moormann

Eric celebrated 22 years with Consolidated in April! He is an IT Systems Specialist, working with our business customers on their network needs.